Download Item (6.9 MB)


Note: The Columbia Region Association of Governments (CRAG) included local governments within five counties spanning the Oregon–Washington state line. After 1973, Washington, Clackamas, and Multnomah Counties and their associated cities were mandatory members of CRAG. Clark County and the cities of Columbia County in Washington State were voluntary associate members, as were Tri-Met, the Port of Portland, and the State of Oregon. The boundaries of the old Metropolitan Service District (established in 1970), Tri-Met (1969), and Portland Metro (1979) overlapped to a large extent but were not identical. The major difference between the current Urban Growth Boundary and the 1977 CRAG draft UGB is the later addition of the Damascus area in Clackamas County. Each designation reflected political compromises among urban and rural legislators. Also, the Tri-Met boundary would certainly have been more restrictive at the time of its creation, but I could locate no map of its historical boundaries.

Publication Date



Portland Metro, Tri-Met, and urban growth boundaries from Portland Metro, Regional Land Information System CD-ROM (2009 edition); 1970 MSD redrawn from Metro: The Metropolitan Connection.

Figure 7.6 Administrative boundaries and the urban growth boundary in the Portland Region.pdf